Raiders Of The Lost Ark Is Still The Ultimate Adventure

An adventure movie is quite different from an action movie for a few reasons. While it does contain action it is always more about story and getting somewhere or something whereas action will always be about just that, the actions that take place and more geared towards stunts and effects. With these thoughts in mind we decided to take a look at what makes, in our opinion mind you, Raiders Of The Lost Ark the greatest adventure movie of all time. We know there will be many of you who have opinions and thoughts on other films for consideration and why and we encourage all your comments, but our focus is to pinpoint all the elements that make this a great adventure movie.

To begin our analysis we look at the characters and how each one is the perfect fit for the story. First obviously is Indiana Jones. With a name that just screams adventure he has the ideal costume for an every man of his time without it being like a super hero suit you can immediately identify with him. He has a profession that makes the exotic locations not seem out of place. He has a style and demeanor that you can’t help but root for. The casting of Indiana couldn’t have been more perfect. Harrison Ford has the perfect look that isn’t too worn yet not polished at all with a smile that makes you smirk and smile too.

It’s Indiana’s friends that aid him in his adventure and search for the ark that complete him. He has the woman on his arm who is pretty but not ravishingly beautiful and she knows and even shares his love of searching for the rare, this makes her the perfect companion on his adventure.

Sallah is the guy around the city of Cairo that knows everyone has the connections and knowledge of the area unlike anyone and tries to live vicariously through Indy by helping him.

As for the villains in Raiders non could be better than the always hated Nazi’s along with Jones’ consummate arch enemy Dr. Belloq who teams with the Nazi’s and takes advantage of there equipment and money to try and out do Indy who has almost primitive tools of the trade and relies on his knowledge and instinct. Along with the behind the scenes overseer for the third reich is the creepy, typical Nazi Major Toht who just breeds evil love for Hitler and his goals.

Raiders offered great worldly locations right from the beginning where Indy finds a treasure cave perfectly booby trapped for which only Indiana knows the way through the traps that are set. Frozen land of Nepal to the desert of Cairo to a remote island that will witness the power of the ark for all there to see.

The story itself is near flawless, from the perfectly timed trouble Jones encounters to the wit and humor woven throughout the story and the perfect amount of action and fight scenes. You are never lost due to complicated plot lines and too many things going on at once yet you are engrossed in the story from start to finish.

There is something for everyone in Raiders from an underlying love story to the carefully used elements of history and even ancient history. It is a movie and story most everyone loves and no doubt it’s one you have to finish watching every time you come across it on TV. It never seems to be over played and everyone has a favorite part of the movie, whether it’s the giant stone ball chasing Indy to start the film to shooting the town sword master in the street. every young boy gravitates to Indiana Jones and wants a fedora hat and whip yet there is enough of a great story that a lot of women don’t get bored by the film. It’s a perfect homage to adventure films of the 30’s, 40’s and 50’s yet it still rises above them all. It’s an adventure we all want to be on and let ourselves get lost in without it getting old.

76 thoughts on “Raiders Of The Lost Ark Is Still The Ultimate Adventure”

  1. I’ll never forget seeing this movie for the first time, when it came out. We had no idea what it was about, etc and I was continually blown away by it as the movie progressed. Great write up!

  2. Oh man, do I love Indy! I won’t lie, Temple is my favorite (I know, I know), but Raiders of the Lost Ark is such an iconic action/adventure. Great piece!

    1. Don’t feel bad. RAIDERS is a better movie but TEMPLE OF DOOM is my favorite. I’ve watched it at least a good 20 times whereas I’ve only seen RAIDERS maybe 9 or 10.

      1. I don’t feel bad lol. Temple is a decent movie and fits well with the Indiana Jones series.

  3. I wholeheartedly agree. While I also love the other Indy adventures (including “Kingdom of the Crystal Skulls” and the Young Indy TV series), “Raiders” sets the bar for adventure (as opposed to action, as you rightly pointed out). Other movies, like “The Mummy” have tried to copy its style and formula, but never its charm or sure entertainment value.

    1. Thank you very much to you and all the fine comments glad to see everyone appreciates this masterpiece

  4. two things: 1. my second favorite movie ever. 2. the only movie for which i could recite the dialogue and scene by scene description for the entire thing.

  5. I saw this movie for the first time as a kid in the theater with my dad and brother. Great review….out of all the Indiana Jones this will forever be the best one..after that I like the one Sean Connery was in as his father. The humor is um..well funny 🙂 weird though how the special effects were just fantastic when the movie first came out.. but not as much today..doesn’t take away from it though..
    thanks for the little trip down memory lane..you really are dating me here though….uhhhhh… getting me to date myself.

    btw – I found some comments from you in my spam box..I so apologize for not checking that more often and for not answering them ..I mean I didnt know they were there but…ok… 🙂

    1. I remember when you used to be able to buy VHS tapes at Mcdonalds dirt cheap around xmas time and one year we were finally able to get the trilogy and I just about wore the tape out! Thanks for reading!!

  6. You just can’t go wrong with Indy. He showed me the world beyond my small town when I was a child. I will always be in his debt for that.

    1. They both are such great films and really rival each other. I went with Raiders because it got all the adventure started. Thanks for reading!!

  7. There are so many life lessons given by Indy and his cohorts. I couldn’t wait to see it again. When it came out on VHS, I had friends over to share the experience. Now I own the boxed set. My kids will probably show it to their kids.

    1. I don’t think there is any doubt that it will trascend generations. Thanks so much for reading!!

  8. There has yet to be a film or series of films that could top the adventures of Indiana Jones. Its hard to pick a favorite, although the last crusade and temple of doom have always competed head to head for the best. Honestly, I thought that John Carter wasnt bad, a lot of it reminded of indiana jones (in the adventury/gonna get killed and barely survive but still humorous) kind of way. Love your blog.

  9. Agree! I love this movie and years of watching it on reruns has not dulled my desire to sit through to the end.

    1. The fact that it never gets old is part of what makes it such a great movie. Thanks so much for reading!!

  10. I’ve loved this movie from the first time I’ve seen it. Still feel like a little kid with a big ole smile going when it comes up on tv.

    P.S. Still love the stunt show of this at Disney as well!

    1. I feel the same way everytime it’s on. I always have to call my dad and tell him when it’s on cause we just never could get enough of it. Thanks so much for reading!

  11. Love Indy and your homage to him and of course Harrison Ford. It’s hard to believe that Tom Selleck originally had the part. As much as I love Tom Selleck, I’m so glad he bowed out because Indy would not have been Indy without Harrison Ford. Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my post. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    1. I agree that Selleck, while a great actor, just didn’t have the intangible to be Indy Harrison really made him a hero. Thanks for reading!!!

    1. It wasn’t as bad as everyone thought. It was enetrtaing and I thought they did well with the timing since it had been so long since the last Indy movie. I wasn’t crazyaboiut the aliens at the end but I don’t think it killed the whole movie

      1. I agree. That didn’t bother me at all and they had limited options given the historical setting of that film too. I’m wondering if they’ll do another…

  12. Lost Ark is one of my favourites! The INDIANA JONES movies are classic adventure movies and spot on with Harrison Ford, he was born to be Indy Jones!

    1. Thanks for coming back and checking us out!! You have a great week too and look forward to our future posts!

  13. I’ve never rally considered the distinction between adventure movies ad action movies, but now that I think about it, I would agree with you. Your argument perfectly explains why I much prefer adventure movies. That said, while I love Indiana Jones movies (except for the last one, what the hell was that?) I prefer The Last Crusade, mainly because I love Sean Connery. However, I do respect Raider of the Lost Ark because it has the best lead female of the franchise.

  14. It was really thoroughly entertaining. It was one of the films that changed my perception for that old films can be better than modern ones.

  15. They’ve been playing a lot of Indiana Jones on tv lately. I love this one and the Last Crusade, never gets old. Thanks for following me! I’m going to put you on my blogroll if that’s ok.

  16. Great review and a great choice for best adventure movie of all time – I can’t think of anything older that has such broad appeal, or anything newer that has bettered Raiders, despite many years of cinematic advancements. Raiders has stood the test of time and your review makes me want to watch it again!

    1. It really has stood the test of time and hopefully future generations will appreciate as we do! thanks for stopping by and for reading! Come back soon

  17. One of my all-time favorites. I still remember seeing it in the theater as a kid. I was mad going in because my mom and dad made me watch it instead of another movie I wanted to see (Muppets Take Manhattan I think). I also remember leaving the theater cracking a fake whip and thinking that I had just saw the best thing since Star Wars!

    1. Thanks so much for sharing your memories. I think everyone wanted to be Indy as a kid first time we saw Raiders lol. Thanks so much and thanks for reading!! Come back soon and often!

  18. Spielberg and Lucas struggled to find who should play Jones. The knew it could make or break the film and it drove then nuts. Just as a distraction to get away from it, they went to see “empire strikes back.” Not even halfway through the film, one looked at the other with the same “are you thinking what I’m thinking?” And it was settled.

  19. I don’t know if this comment is going to show up twice. I lost you halfway through my first attempt. Anyway, I suppose “the other” was Star Wars. Right? Love Indiana Jones. Don’t know anyone who wouldn’t. Breathes there a man (or woman) with soul so dead? Surely not. Love your blog by the way. I’ve visited several times and, with your permission, would like to add you as a link to mine. I haven’t found a lot of reviewers or review sites that I would recommend. Yours is one. And speaking of great adventures, I saw The Avengers twice this week. There is a great review on it on CinemaBlend.com. I was dying to write my own review, but made the mistake of reading theirs first. I wanted to plagiarize in the worst way. I was totally out-gunned. Sigh. Anyway. Great job on the Indiana Jones write-up. Looking forward to reading more.

    1. I’d be happy to b3e linked with your site. So glad you enjoy my articles and look forward to having you back!

Leave a Reply

