The Hobbit Lives Up To The Hype

I would like to introduce new regular guest blogger, Ben. Ben hosts his own blog “Dazed and Reviewed” and is a true movie fanatic. His introductory article is his immediate review of  “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”. Enjoy his take.

Hello everyone! It’s currently 3:20 AM and I just got back from the midnight screening of “The Hobbit”.

I’m not so much going to review the film (since most of you will not have seen it by now I don’t want to give away anything), as tell you some parts I found strong and review the experience.

First, I want to start by telling you that I not only saw “The Hobbit” in 3D but also in the controversial higher frame rate. I must say I’m not sure where any of the negativity is coming from, to me it was one of the best looking films with THE finest 3D I’ve ever experienced. I strongly recommend choosing this format to see it. I didn’t notice the projector to be any louder or really anything different except that the movie looked great.

The-Hobbit-poster-2The film itself is great. I must admit the while I have read “The Hobbit” and am a big fan of the LOTR series, it’s been quite some time since I have read the book. I tell you this because I feel many additions and subtractions to the story went over my head. That being said, for one who knows the story but not so much the details, I’m beyond satisfied. What’s wonderful about this film is that we all know there is a trilogy coming. Unlike “The Fellowship of the Ring” the film is aware that is but one part of a guaranteed trilogy. There is no fake ending to this movie because there doesn’t need to be, it knows it’s just the start. That being said, it does a great job at setting up the story.

Being the person who often falls asleep during midnight premiers (yes, even during Avengers….and Batman) I was enthralled the entire movie. While it may not be packed with action, the scenes of dialogue and story development are done with such craft that they are sometimes as exciting as the action itself. I didn’t once check my phone during the film, I didn’t feel it drag a bit. Even at it’s two and a half hour runtime.

The performances in the movie were outstanding, the cast as a whole really captures the roughness and yet heart filled dwarves. No one person outshines another, but in this case it’s wonderful. To me, “The Hobbit” never truly was a Bilbo centered story. The story, to me at least, has always been the group as a whole, and Bilbo just happened to be the one to tell it. This film does a great job of giving the whole cast it’s times to shine.

I must say there is a major major major MAJOR story addition, one that I assume is of the many that Peter Jackson has said to have come from J.R.R. Tolkien’s supplemental writings to this story an others. It’s very cool and gives the film it’s intensity. It also makes me a little more comfortable with the notion of this story stretching three films. If things like these continue to appear, three films is exactly what was needed.

Final thoughts, see the movie. See it in 3D for sure, and enjoy the first of what promises to be an adventurous trilogy with just as much adventure as the last.

Be sure to follow Ben and his regular thoughts here: Dazedandreviewedblog.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “The Hobbit Lives Up To The Hype”

  1. I am (hopefully) going to see The Hobbit tonight and I can’t wait. The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings are my favourite books of all time, so I’m really hoping that Peter Jackson’s film is all that I’ve hoped it would be. I loved his other three Tolkien films, and so I have my fingers crossed that this one and the next two will be just as good.

Leave a Reply

